Sunday, 21 October 2012 13:52

Certification Path – MCSE (Microsoft Certified Solution Expert): Messaging “Exchange Server 2013”

Written by

As you aware, MS confirms the availability of Exchange Server 2013 certification exams by January 31, 2013. Keeping that in mind, I would like to give you an idea about how the new certification is planned. There are no more “MCITP: Enterprise Messaging Administrator" on Exchange 2013 and is now named to MCSE: Messaging (Exchange Server 2013). i.e. “Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert: Messaging”.

To become MCSE: Messaging on Exchange Server 2013, you need to get the following exams on your credits (simple diagram from MS explains everything),


So you need below certification in credits to become MCSE: Messaging certified,
    • MCSA Windows Server 2012
    • Exam 70-341: TS: Core Solutions of Microsoft Exchange Server 2013
    • Exam 70-342: Advanced Solutions of Microsoft Exchange Server 2013

Now, How to become MCSA: Windows Server 2012?

You need to get the following certifications in your credit to become “MCSA: Windows Server 2012”.

Exam 70-410: Installing and Configuring Windows Server 2012
Exam 70-411: Administering Windows Server 2012
Exam 70-412: Configuring Advanced Windows Server 2012 Services
Or, the Upgrade Plan
Exam 70-417: Upgrading Your Skills to MCSA Windows Server 2012
This is intended for the candidates, who already have one of the following certifications,
    • MCSA: Windows Server 2008
    • MCITP: Virtualization Administrator
    • MCITP: Enterprise Messaging Administrator
    • MCITP: Lync Server Administrator
    • MCITP: SharePoint Administrator
    • MCITP: Enterprise Desktop Administrator

Look the screen shot below(which has taken from the Certification Planner,


Either you have to write all core exams + the 2 Exchange Server 2013 Exams as mentioned earlier.

In short, the candidate who have any MCITP list above (normally all of us mostly have MCITP – Enterprise Messaging Admin) can write single Upgrade exam (Exam 70-417) to become MCSA and then take the additional two Exchange Server 2013 exams (70–341 & 70–342) to become MCSE: Messaging certified person. Otherwsie a total of 5 exams needed to become MCSA: Messaging.

Need more reading, see MCSE: Messaging Certification Overview


theme by reviewshub